

Minutes of the Executive Council Meeting

Monday, July 10, 2006

Sheraton San Diego Hotel

San Diego, CA

National Officers Present: President Gary E. DeLander; Immediate Past-President Gary P. Stoehr; President-Elect Karen L. Rascati; Historian J. Douglas Bricker. Executive Vice-President A. Wayne Pittman and National Office Administrative Assistant Gail R. Moriarty participated via teleconference.

Regional Councilors Present: Jack Reynolds (I); Dong-Churl Suh (II); Mary Ann Kirkpatrick (III); Karen Kopacek (IV); Victoria F. Roche (V)

Members Not Able to Attend: Secretary Paul W. Jungnickel; Jonathan Wolfe (VI); Lori J. Morin (VII), Anne Y. Lin (VIII)

President DeLander called the meeting to order and welcomed those in attendance. He presented the meeting agenda as well as draft copies of the March 2006 Executive Council Meeting. An electronic copy of the draft minutes will also be sent to members requesting any corrections and approval.

The 2006 Draft Revision of The Rho Chi Society National Bylaws was distributed for "final" review and discussion before releasing it to chapters. The following were points of discussion and/or recommended changes to wording.

Article III

- Section 1. Last sentence
 - Replace "after being duly initiated in the presence of the chapter membership." With "after being duly initiated by the chapter membership." This change allows flexibility for chapters to offer alternatives to the traditional initiation ceremony (i.e. videotaped initiation, summer initiation, individual initiation, etc.). The Council felt this was forward thinking, especially with changes in educational programs. After discussion, a recommendation was made that a section be added to the chapter reports requesting a description (manner) of induction. A review will be made to determine how chapters are conducting initiations and if further changes to this section are needed.
- Section 3 a) 1. add wording "...or meet the minimum standards of the Canadian Council for the Accreditation of Pharmacy Programs, <u>and</u>." This qualifies that students of Canadian schools are eligible for membership.
 NOTE: Following the San Diego Meeting, the National Office determined that the equivalent accrediting body for Canadian schools of pharmacy is the Canadian Council for the Accreditation of Pharmacy Programs (CAAPP) and is also recognized as such by ACPE. All references to the Association of Faculties of Pharmacy of Canada in the new Bylaws have been changed to CAAPP.

- Section 3 d) Faculty Membership Paragraphs 3. and 4. were merged into a new 3.; 4. was added to clarify mechanism for nomination and 5. was added for consistency of meeting requirements for membership as outlined for other membership categories. There was some discussion regarding faculty being eligible upon assuming a faculty position and not having a record of commitment to the school or college. Several chapters have requirements within their chapter bylaws that a faculty must be at the institution for a specified length of time prior to being eligible for membership. This determination will remain at the chapter level.
- Section 5 Honorary Membership. New wording will specify eligible individuals. Initiation fees for Honorary Members will be paid by the National treasury.
- Section 12 Disqualification and Loss of Membership. There was concern raised for due process for an individual presented to the National Office for disqualification. The text will be modified to show that the final decision regarding disqualification will be that of the Executive Council.

Article V: National Officers and Regional Councilors

 Section 1 – Last sentence – change to read "... Pharmacy) or as specified by the Society's Executive Council." This change further solidifies the responsibility of the Council for assignment of chapters to geographic regions and eliminates the necessity for Bylaws amendments for placement of chapters. This change further permits subdivision of geographic regions as the number of chapters in a region becomes large and thus under represented in the Council. At this time, the Council authorized that the Virginia and West Virginia chapters be moved from Region III to Region II and Utah from Region VIII to Region VII. These changes align our chapters with the APhA/ASP Regions (Districts) and delay the need to subdivide Region III.

Article VIII: Chapter Officers

• This is a new section outlining the duties of chapter officers and advisors. It was felt this would give more guidance to chapters and advisors for the duties of each office. With minor typographical changes made, Council members were asked to carefully review the wording of this Article and send comments to Wayne Pittman by the end of July.

Robert McCarthy, Chair of the Lecture Award Committee, reported that there are two active nominations for the 2007 Lecture Award. He will follow up with Anne Linn, Chair of the 2006 Lecture Award Committee, to obtain any nomination files and determine if they should remain active nominees. (If needed, there will be a call for additional nominations and a timetable set up for completion of the Lecture Award recipient selection – August-October.) Nominees will be ranked in the event that the selected nominee cannot be present for the 2007 Lecture. Karen Kopacek and Jack Reynolds volunteered to be members of the 2007 Lecture Award Committee.

President DeLander reported that he has appointed Committee Chairs and would like for the Chairs to make recommendation for membership on the Committees.

Karen Rascati, Jack Reynolds and Gary Stoehr will devise a point system to be utilized for evaluation of the 2006 Chapter Reports. Karen has a draft of ideas and will send them to Jack and Gary. A second request will be sent to chapters in September to request submission of their 2006 Chapter Reports. There was discussion of sending chapters a "report card" as a benchmark.

One Chapter Project Proposal was received from Alpha Omicron Chapter, the University of Pittsburgh, for the June Award deadline. Although the proposal lacked some clarity in specifying the utilization of the funds, i.e., is the award being used to "award an award, a recommendation was made that the award be made but that the chapter should provide explanation of what they propose to do in the future with the funds. Karen Rascati will notify the Chapter of the award.

President DeLander will follow up with Dean Robert Sindelar regarding The Faculty of Pharmaceutical Sciences, The University of British Columbia interest in establishing a chapter of the Society.

President Delander asked Council members to send comments to him regarding their thought on an "Argus-like" review of the Society and its vision and mission.

President DeLander reported that the following Committee Chairs have been appointed:

Chapter Awards	Karen Rascati
Audit	Jack Reynolds
Lecture Award	Bob McCarthy
Bylaws	Lori Morin
Nominations	Gary Stoehr
Service Recognition	Doug Bricker
Faculty Advisor Award	Marc Harrold
First-Year Graduate Scholarship	Vicki Roche
Fellowship Scholarship	Anne Lin

President Delander also reported that Robert Bachman of AFPE conveyed that support has not been received from Schering for the First-Year Graduate Scholarship for the second consecutive year. Although AFPE will continue its support of the Scholarship, it will be useful to determine the success of previous Scholarship recipients through their graduate program and in turn inform Schering Plough of their successes and thus encourage their continued support of AFPE and Rho Chi.

The next meeting of the Executive Council will be in March, 2007, in conjunction with APhA (March 16-20). The time and date is to be determined.

Submitted by,

Gail R. Moriarty, Administrative Assistant