

97th Annual Meeting of the Rho Chi Society March 6, 2021, 1pm EST – Virtual Zoom Webinar

MEETING MINUTES

- I. Meeting called to order at 1:03pm EST/10:03am PST
- II. President Emmanuelle Schwartzman welcomed the 191 virtual attendees (268 registered) and then we began the pre-recorded reports. (All reports can be found in the meeting minutes of the Executive Council Meeting held on February 27, 2021).
 - a. Report of the National President President, Emmanuelle Schwartzman
- III. Reports of the Committees (pre-recorded)
 - a. Report of the Auditing Committee Chair, Paul W. Jungnickel
 - b. Report of the National Office Executive Vice President, Karen B. Farris
 - c. Report of the Nominating Committee Chair and Immediate Past President, Susan M. Meyer
 - d. Report of the Scholarship/Fellowship Committee Chair, Andy J. Smith
 - 2020-2021 AFPE First Year Graduate Fellowship recipient is Philip Melchert from Alpha Omega chapter UMKC.
 - e. 2021 Lecture Award Committee announcement by Chair and Historian, Cynthia M. Phillips
 - i. 2021 recipient Henry J. Mann from Ohio State University
 - ii. Video presentation of Lecture Award will be available on the Rho Chi website on March 27, 2021 and hosted on Youtube all year for viewing.
 - f. Faculty Advisor Award Committee announced 2021 recipient Chair, Beth Resman-Targoff
 - i. Alexa Carlson from Beta Tau Chapter at Northeastern University
- IV. Recognition Awards Live, announced by President, Emmanuelle Schwartzman
 - a. Alumni Honor Roll
 - i. Erin McCreary, Zeta Chapter, Auburn University
 - ii. Kiya Khristina Bennett, Gamma Chapter, University of Oklahoma
 - iii. Walter E. Uber, Alpha lota Chapter, Medical University of South Carolina
 - b. Honorary Member, Carolyn Peterson Penny
 - c. Retirement of Gary DeLander, Rho Chi Past President and Advisor for 20 years at Oregon State University
 - d. Advisor Recognition for Years of Service 5, 10, 15, and 20 years
 - i. 20 years
 - 1. Emmanuel O. Akala Beta Sigma, Howard University
 - ii. 15 years
 - Milena McLaughlin Gamma Kappa, Midwestern University-Chicago
 - 2. Jeanne Frenzel Kappa, North Dakota State University (pronounced Jeannie)
 - 3. Bob Dupuis Xi, University of North Carolina
 - 4. Ebenezer Oriaker Gamma Zeta, Florida A&M University
 - iii. 10 years
 - 1. Maria Kostka-Rokosz Psi, MCPHS University Boston
 - 2. Nina Pavuluri Gamma Tau, LECOM
 - 3. Brian Terrell Gamma Mu Texas Tech Univ Health Science Ctr
 - 4. Kristina Ward Beta Pi, Univ of Rhode Island

- 5. Aaron Lengel Beta Eta, University of Toledo
- 6. Stephanie Conway Gamma Pi, MCPHS University Worcester
- 7. Ronald Herman Delta, University of Iowa
- 8. Jenny Wong Rho, University of Washington

iv. 5 years

- 1. Lauren Angelo Epsilon Lambda, Rosalind Franklin University
- 2. Simone Heyliger Gamma Xi, Hampton University
- 3. Matthew Metcalf Gamma Pi, MCPHS University Worcester
- 4. Marissa Ostroff Epsilon Iota, Western New England Univ
- 5. Sheeba Varghese Gupta Epsilon Kappa, Univ of South Florida
- 6. Sarah Steinhardt Epsilon Kappa, Univ of South Florida
- 7. Jared Sheley Delta Beta, SIUE
- 8. McKenzie Ferguson Delta Beta, SIUE
- 9. Amanda Stahnke Alpha Omega, UMKC
- 10. Angela Stewart Epsilon, Washington State University
- 11. Lori Duke Alpha Kappa, University of Georgia
- 12. Kelly Covert Delta Epsilon, East Tennessee State University
- e. Outgoing Exec Council Members
 - i. Andy Smith 5 years as Rho Chi National Secretary
 - ii. Karl Fiebelkorn, Michelle Bottenberg, and Josh Neumiller served four years as Regional Councilors
 - iii. Zac Cox who served two years as Region III-W Councilor
 - iv. Student Representatives Rebecca Warhmund from Alpha Nu Chapter, Univ of Tennessee and Lisa Wendt, Phi Chapter, from the University of Illinois-Chicago
- V. Chapter Awards Live, Chair and President-elect Lucio Volino
 - a. Project Proposal Winners
 - i. Spring 2021
 - 1. Alpha Nu Chapter, University of Tennessee
 - 2. Alpha Omicron Chapter, University of Pittsburgh
 - ii. Summer 2020
 - 1. Alpha Xi Chapter, University of Kentucky
 - 2. Beta Chapter, Oregon State University
 - b. 2019-2020 Chapter Achievement Award
 - i. Recipient Alpha Xi, University of Kentucky
 - ii. Finalists

1.	1	Beta Delta	St. John's University
2.	II	Alpha Omicron	University of Pittsburgh
3.	III-East	Beta Alpha	University of South Carolina
4.	III-South	Chi	University of Mississippi
5.	III-West	Alpha Mu	West Virginia University
6.	IV-East	Alpha Xi	University of Kentucky
7.	IV-West	Phi	University of Illinois Chicago
8.	V	Kappa	North Dakota State Univ
9.	VI	Gamma Omega	Texas A&M University
10.	VII (Tie)	Alpha Upsilon	Idaho State University
11.	VII (Tie)	Beta	Oregon State University
12.	. VIII	Gamma Sigma	Western University of HS

- c. 2019-2020 Most Improved Chapter Award
 - i. Recipient Alpha Omicron, University of Pittsburgh
 - ii. Finalists -
 - 1. Alpha lota, Medical University of South Carolina
 - 2. Alpha Mu, West Virginia University
 - 3. Alpha Omicron, University of Pittsburgh
 - 4. Alpha Upsilon, Idaho State University

- 5. Beta Delta, St. John's University
- 6. Beta Phi, University of Wyoming
- 7. Chi, University of Mississippi
- 8. Phi, University of Illinois Chicago
- 9. Upsilon, The Ohio State University
- VI. Closing Remarks by President Emmanuelle Schwartzman
 - a. Reminder to cast election votes online March 5-7, 2021, links were emailed to registered chapter delegates.
 - b. Reminder that a second ballot will be sent for voting March 19-21, 2021 if the vote to approve a National Treasurer to Rho Chi National Officers passes.
 - c. Join our social media groups, share your chapter activities and research with us, on Facebook, Instagram, LinkedIn and Twitter.
 - d. Visit our website often for new announcements and merchandise at RhoCHi.org.
- VII. Meeting Adjourned at 1:49pm EST/10:49am PST

Notes from the National Office/Credential Committee regarding 2021 online elections and chapter voting statistics.

- 124 chapter delegates registered to vote out of 132 active chapters
- 121 cast an online vote
- 8 chapters did not register a chapter delegate and 3 registered a delegate but did not cast a vote
- 11 chapters were marked absent from the 2021 Rho Chi Society National Convention.

Iota University of Florida

Tau South Dakota State University

Alpha Lambda University of California, San Francisco

Alpha Nu University of Tennessee

Beta Lambda Temple UniversityBeta Theta Long Island University

Delta Gamma University of British Columbia

Delta Omega
Presbyterian College

o Gamma Nu Midwestern University, Glendale, Arizona

Gamma Upsilon South University

Gamma Zeta Florida A&M University