Generally, one First Year Graduate Fellowship is awarded annually to a student beginning their first year of graduate study. Details regarding the fellowship and application process can be found below. The deadline for receipt of applications is May 1.


  1. It shall be the policy of The Rho Chi Society to award on an annual basis to a qualified applicant, the Rho Chi, AFPE First-Year Graduate Fellowship, a cash award of $7,500.
  2. The award shall be presented to the successful applicant by action of the Rho Chi Graduate Fellowship Committee and the AFPE Board of Grants.
  3. The award recipient will be announced at the Annual Convention of The Rho Chi Society. The award stipend will be paid in two payments on September 1 and May 1 of the year of the award after it has been determined that the applicant has enrolled in the graduate program specified in the application.
  4. The award is not renewable.
  5. Exceptions to this policy shall be made only by the Executive Council of the Society.
  1. Applicants must be a member of the Rho Chi Honor Society.
  2. Applicants must be a pharmacy student in the final year of professional studies or a
    professional pharmacy degree program graduate entering a pharmaceutical sciences
    (including social/administrative sciences) Ph.D. program in an accredited U.S. school
    or college of pharmacy as a full-time student. Pharmacy students who have initiated
    graduate work through a dual Pharm.D./Ph.D. degree pathway are eligible if they
    have completed their professional degree and will be pursuing full-time graduate
    study in the year the award is made.*
  3. Applicants must be a U.S. citizen or permanent resident.

*Students who will not have completed their professional degree at the time of the award may be considered in specific and compelling situations. To be considered, a separate letter from the student’s graduate mentor/major advisor must be include and must:

  1. Provide assurance that the student is committed to continuing graduate studies following receipt of the professional degree.
  2. Indicate that at least 75% of the student’s effort will be dedicated to graduate studies during the year that the award is made.
  3. Confirm that, at the time of the award, at least two years of study or research remain to be completed in the student’s Ph.D. program.

The applicant shall have demonstrated high potential for success in a graduate program on the strength of:

  1. Academic achievement (transcripts, GRE scores if required by your program, academic awards and honors); Research achievement (previous research experience, presentations, abstract, publications); Personal achievement (challenges overcome, clarity of motivation, personal and career goals).
  2. Certification through a minimum of at least three (3) letters of recommendation from individuals directly familiar with the applicant’s academic achievements and capacity for success in graduate programs.

Past Recipients

2023Alexcia CarrUniversity of Texas at Austin
2022Christopher GodwinUniversity of Arkansas for Medical Sciences
2021No Recipient
2020Philip MelchertUniversity of Missouri - Kansas City (UMKC)
2019Keito HoshitsukiUniversity of Pittsburgh
2018No Recipient
2017Corey J. HayesUniversity of Arkansas
2016Christopher D. SafforeUniversity of Illinois at Chicago
2016Gena Maynelle BurchUniversity of Florida
2015No Recipient
2015Julie Ann Rechel PattersonVirginia Commonwealth University
2014Blessy GeorgeRutgers, The State University of New Jersey
2014Izna AliMidwestern University
2013Amanda StolarzUniversity of Arkansas
2012Corbin ThompsonOhio Northern University
2011Julieta Scalo University of Texas at Austin
2010Daniel J. CronaUniversity of Colorado
2009Melanie R. Nicol Ohio Northern University
2008Daniel HertzRutgers, The State University of New Jersey
2008Jasmine TalamehUniversity of Pittsburgh
2007Nathaniel PageUniversity at Buffalo
2006Katherine FrancisUniversity of Pittsburgh
2005Joshua NeumillerWashington State University
2004Ashley N. AlbrightUniversity of Texas at Austin
2003Lisa TangUniversity of Tennessee
2002Lauren M. AleksunesUniversity of Connecticut
2001Michael D. TaylorUniversity of Florida
2000Bernard J. KomoroskiUniversity of Pittsburgh
1998Carol E. KopetUniversity of Connecticut
1997C. Ryan YatesUniversity of Tennessee
1996Melissa L. FlaggUniversity of Mississippi
1995Karen L. HackettCreighton University
1994Peter D. A. AngusUniversity of Michigan
1993Sherry L. LaPorteUniversity of Connecticut
1992Stephen M. WatersOregon State University